You have no items in your shopping cart.

Gorgias Book Grant

Gorgias Book Grant

Welcome to the Gorgias Book Grant Program

The Gorgias Book Grant was first awarded in 2002. It is an important part of our ongoing efforts to support young scholars in the humanities. Every year, Gorgias chooses two graduate students to receive an award of $500 worth of Gorgias titles (each) for demonstrating excellence in their fields.

2020 Grant Field: Any field within the scope of Gorgias Publications
Application Deadline: November 30, 2020


  1. Candidate must be enrolled in a graduate program (Master's or Ph.D.) in an accredited university or an institution of learning in the field of the grant.
  2. Candidate must be a student in good standing.

Application Process

To apply, please email or post the following to Gemma Tully (

  1. A letter indicating your interests in your field and plans for the future.
  2. A two-page description of your thesis, or a one-page description of your course work in the case of course-based programs.
  3. Official transcripts of the previous 2 years of university education. If the institutions you come from do not give out transcripts, please contact us to make alternative arrangements to satisfy this requirement.
  4. Two letters of recommendation from professors familiar with your work (one must be your current supervisor in the field of the grant).

If applying by mail, please send the above items to Gemma Tully, Gorgias Press LLC, Book Grants Program, 954 River Rd., Piscataway, NJ 08854.

Please bear in mind that all documents, except for official transcripts, should be in English.

In order to be considered for the grant, please submit all documents by November 30, 2020 (snail-mail documents should be postmarked by the due date). We’ll announce the lucky winners in late December 2020.

Previous Winners of the Gorgias Book Grant include:

2019 Mara Nicosia and Saquib Hussain

2018 Sophia Pitcher and David Vasquez

(We are working to complete the award history and hope to have the full list in place soon!)

2002 Kevin van Bladel